The Carolina Yacht Club is a sailing and social club, with membership by invitation only.
The Carolina Yacht Club was founded in 1883 by young men wanting to share their interest in sailing and yacht racing. The Club was incorporated in 1888, and moved into its current location on the Cooper River waterfront in 1907 from a small room over a wharf warehouse a few yards north of its present location.
The Club resides in an old cotton factor’s office, with expanded ballroom and reception facilities. The Boathouse, a family oriented bar and grill located on the waterfront itself, is open during the spring, summer and fall. The South Property adjacent to the original North Property is home to the dining facilities, and includes a large ballroom. The Club also boasts updated floating docks, along with boat ramp and boat hoist.